Living Your Best Life…

I saw a post on Instagram the other night advertising a course that you can take where you will be given tips on living your best life as a mum. I must say that really got me thinking/wondering, am I living my best life, and what does it even mean to live your best life?

One can really think up quite a lot in those quiet hours at the end of the day when you are really tired but stay up late after the kid/s have got to bed, just to have some me time and eat your chocolate in peace and just Netflix and chill (insert guilty face here…)

Well this is my 2c worth on the topic… My best is not your best and vice versa. What would living my best life entail? Honestly, if I really think about it I have everything I have ever wanted in life (except the Aston Martin, Victoria Secret model body and career, my own bakery and coffee shop… list goes on) I knew from a young age that I would one day want to settle down and have a family of my own and that is what I have. A loving husband who although he leaves his socks laying will literally do anything for me and Saara, and of course I have my beautiful, feisty, naughty, healthy little girl. I’ve worked in corporate for years and always said that being a SAHM is one of my dreams and guess what? I got that too. Am I living my best life? I don’t know, because how do we measure what “best is”

IMG_0078
My Everything in a picture.

To some on the outside they may look in and think wow she can’t possibly be living her best life at 30, she has to rely on her husband financially and do house work while taking care of a toddler how mundane. I think it is something we do as humans, and something we need to consciously learn to undo, and that is compare ourselves and our lives to others and the choices they make. The point I am trying to make here is that your best may mean having a lot more freedom than I may have in terms of what you do with your time, travelling the world and partying up a storm into the wee hours of the morning may your best (that does sound amazing I won’t lie,) whereas my best is making the most of these early (yet challenging) years of toddler hood. Seeing my child happy and knowing that she is loved is top priority, while still trying to make time for myself and not forgetting that before the little one there was once a couple young and in love and therefore trying to make time for that as well (date night/day is long overdue).

Life is all about what you put in, you put in 50% chances are you’re only going to get that 50% back out, so for me living my best life is about making the most of everything, finding joy in the simple things which may be a walk to the park.

Best is relative, and there is a danger in comparing our best to someone else’s as there is a chance that you may never live up to another’s expectation of “best” which could lead to one being unhappy about your lot in life.

b3426a44-6ee1-4b3a-a1df-f64973611f8a.jpg
In this moment this was me living my best life, enjoying a coffee while watching the waves, Saara was asleep in the car and hubby was chilling there.

So my advice first and foremost to myself (and to anyone who still reading) is to remember that my best is not your best and that is okay. Make the most of whatever situation you find yourself in and cherish those are close to you, forget about those who are only there to put obstacles in your way, hop over that shit and smile while doing it. And never compare your life, your kids, yourself as in your appearance, dress or anything to anyone one else (I am not saying we can’t learn from others, because I do on a daily basis) but do you, be unashamedly you and in that, you will be living your best life!

Much love,

Mama Lauren

One thought on “Living Your Best Life…

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started